farewell to Ed, more to come

Ed McMahon dying doesn’t surprise me. It’s sad, but it’s something I’ve been waiting for a long time.
For some reason, it occured to me when I was a teenager that eventually, everyone older than me who I’ve gotten used to being in the world will die. I’ll turn on the TV one day (or get on cnn.com I guess) and I’ll hear a surprising death notice. Eventually, I’ll hear all of the following:
“Julia Roberts died today in her sleep.”
“Sylverster Stallone passed away last night.”
“Bruce Springsteen was found dead in his home. He was 88.”
“Donald Trump died in his New York apartment.”
So yes, I grew up in the 80s, congrats for noticing. But did you also notice how weird it sounds for someone who’s larger than life to lose it? It just seems… wrong, somehow.

One response to “farewell to Ed, more to come

  1. farrah, MJ and now the oxi clean guy. they all died within a week of you writing this. should everyone older than you fear for their life now?

Leave a Reply

