the surf stoppers

I was playing the game Dominion, which is great, with my friends Dan and Eric the other day when Eric played the Witch card. Since I, like so many of you, was raised on movies and TV shows, I cannot help it but to quote dialogue that matches what’s going on at the time. So when Eric said he was playing the Witch, I said “I’m not a Witch, I’m your wife!”
Putting the gender confusion aside, it’s from “Princess Bride,” and when I said it we shared a chuckle and agreed that it’s a perfect movie. Which is what bring us here to this blog today.
The perfect movie. A movie that couldn’t have been improved by changing anything in the script, the acting, the dialogue, the plot, the anything. “Princess Bride” is one of them, and I’m gonna hit you with a few others below. Note that this isnt a list of “Godfathers” and “Citizen Kanes” but a list of MY perfect movies that showed up during MY generation. The kind of flick that my friends or I were channel surfing and come across, we couldn’t help but to say “oh!” and settle in. Here we go, feel free to add or disagree:

Princes Bride
Shawshank Redemption
Midnight Run
Aliens
The Spanish Prisoner
Full Metal Jacket
Snatch
The Thing

What are your surf stoppers?

10 responses to “the surf stoppers

  1. To those I would add Raiders of the Lost Arc. Also, possibly, The Incredibles.

  2. I won’t name names, but someone I know got bored by PRINCESS BRIDE. I love that movie.

  3. Point Break. I mean it. And you know I’m right.

  4. little miss sunshine is the first one that comes to mind for me.

  5. todd elliott

    Pirates of the Caribbean, the first one. It’s always seemed like a very efficient, tight movie.

  6. Guy Ritchie does not make perfect movies. Stop lying to people.

  7. Big YES to Midnight Run. An often overlooked classic. I just watched Going In Style; George Burns, Art Carney and Lee Strasberg rob a bank because they’re bored with being old, directed by Martin Brest before he made Beverly Hills Cop or Midnight Run. Pretty good, believe it or not, but not perfect.

  8. Beverly Hills Cop I or II
    X-Men 2
    Superman
    When Harry Met Sally
    Back to the Future I or II
    The Silence of the Lambs
    GoodFellas
    The Empire Strikes Back
    Ghostbusters
    Fletch
    The Blues Brothers
    Army of Darkness
    The Shining
    Ruthless People
    War of the Roses
    Raiders of the Lost Ark
    The Dark Knight
    The Omen
    Jaws
    Planes, Trains & Automobiles
    Big
    The Untouchables
    The Fugitive
    Unforgiven

    In regard to your list, first four would be on mine. Spanish Prisoner– is that the Mamet film? I don’t think I liked it, from a writing standpoint. Full Metal Jacket is great, but personally I preferred Platoon. I didn’t like Snatch– couldn’t understand a damn word anyone was saying. And I know everyone loves The Thing, but I’ve never been able to get into it. I keep meaning to try again.

  9. sadly, it’s not the good ones that make me pause; it’s usually the TBS/TNT dreck. In no particular order:

    Turner & Hooch
    The Principal
    Any Godzilla movie not f’d up by Roland Emmerich (includes Ghidra, Gamora, and Mothra)
    John Candy – Summer Rental, Uncle Buck
    Nurse Betty
    Reruns of SCTV or Arliss
    Stephen King – Pet Semetary, The Shining, Maximum Overdrive, Shawshank Redemption
    unforgiven
    the Song Remains the Same
    Behind the Music: MC Hammer

  10. to be clear – these are not my tops, but they are movies that while channel surfing make me lose an entire weekend afternoon.

Leave a Reply

