ftw or ftw? wtf?

Either I’m old or not paying attention.
I could have sworn that FTW stood for ‘fuck the world.’ But I’ve been seeing pictures online that say FTW on them, the same way some say FAIL and such, but ‘fuck the world’ doesn’t make sense for them.
So I went to urbandictionary.com and according to them, the NEW meaning of FTW is “for the win.” So if you see a picture of Optimus Prime punching Megatron in the face, and the text says OPTIMUS FTW, it means Optimus is a badass.
I’m posting this because I’m hoping I’m not the only one to miss this acronym evolution. I’m not old, am I?

One response to “ftw or ftw? wtf?

  1. Um, I’ve never heard it as “Fuck the World.” As with all of the epic fail stuff, “FTW” started on WarCraft. 🙂

    If you were any kind of friend you’d also know that I used it in Freshmen II. But you’re not. You hurt me. I hate you.

Leave a Reply

